• Don't overlook our Welcome Package, it contains many links to important and helpful information about functions at VHT like posting pictures and sending PMs (private messages), as well as finding the parts you need.

AD

Dave's '71 CB450 Project

davbib

Veteran Member
Total Posts
Total likes
Hello fellow enthusiasts,

I was encouraged to start a thread to share the work I'm doing on my '71 CB450 project. I also plan on using this thread as a journal that I can refer back to and, hopefully, with your help get my questions answered.

About me. I started riding motorcycles around 13 (My mom had an automatic Yamaha Chappy that she used to ride to try and keep up with my step dad on his Yamaha 500 and I would ride around the yard, circling the house on that). I worked as a busboy under the table and as a paperboy so I could save up for a ‘real’ bike of my own. I ended up with a 77 KE100 that I sold at age 16 so I could buy a car. Soon after I was riding a KZ440. Fast forward to today and I have four bikes in my garage. 1) A CRF450 so that I can ride the BLM land about a half mile from my house. 2) A Honda VTX1300 that I use to take trips on. I used to like to take a week off from work and ride a 2000 mile circle always trying a different path. 3) An FZ09 that I used to use primarily as a commuter when I had to go into work. 4) A ZX10R when I feel like going fast. I have always wanted to fix up an old bike, but work always kept me pretty busy so the only wrenching time I really had was kept keeping those bikes properly maintained. I’m approaching retirement so now is the time (64 days and counting).