• Don't overlook our Welcome Package, it contains many links to important and helpful information about functions at VHT like posting pictures and sending PMs (private messages), as well as finding the parts you need.

AD

CB400N 1981 Keihin VB31B jets

CptCaveman

Total Posts
Total likes
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to tinkering with bikes. I have a CB 400 N from 1981 that I'm working on. I believe the carbs are Keihin VB31B. I'm looking at getting a set of jets to play around but am a little confused regarding the terminology. There are lots of sets on ebay along these lines: "for Keihin PWK PE OKO KOSOO" or "OKO CVK" etc. What do all these acronyms mean? What should I be looking for exactly?

Thanks in advance!

Edit: I've had a look at the stickies but all seem to be dealing with VB21, VB22 and VB24 carbs. Cmsnl.com as mentioned in some of these stickies doesn't help because it just gives part numbers but no information that help you identify the correct replacement jets.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm surprised you didn't see this sticky thread by LDR at the top of the very section you posted this in. Jim breaks down the carbs for the SOHC 400 as well as anyone, everything you need to know should be here.

https://www.vintagehondatwins.com/forums/showthread.php?64-Carb-Information-Years-Jetting-and-More

Thanks AD... I did look through that thread, but since I have a VB31 Carb, the following applies to me:
There are VB31, 32 and 34 versions used elsewhere in the world but they all work the same as their US counterpart. Use www.cmsnl.com to find offered jetting for year/model if not listed here.

I looked it up on www.cmsnl.com and when you look at the relevant nozzle sets etc, they don't provide any details that would allow you to find the rights parts on ebay.

The difficulty I am having is finding jet sets on ebay that are compatible with my carb... e.g. what do "PWK", "PE", "OKO", "CVK" etc. all stand for and how do they relate to my carb?