• Don't overlook our Welcome Package, it contains many links to important and helpful information about functions at VHT like posting pictures and sending PMs (private messages), as well as finding the parts you need.

AD

IMD Pistons

Scootman

Veteran Member
Total Posts
Total likes
Anyone ever used IMD Pistons? I'm looking at some piston kits for my '71 CB175 rebuild, IMD Pistons seem to make a kit for it. Has anyone ever used them before? good/bad experience? run away? They are out of England and make a ton of kits for many bikes for over 30 years! I'm thinking if they made a bad product they wouldn't be around this long, but I'm no expert. So, I spoke to a local mechanic around me and he was spouting something about silicon content in aftermarket pistons etc. and there's a lot of junk, and that has me thinking if I should go with NOS/OEM parts. there are a few guys on ebay selling NOS parts out of Thailand but twice the price as these IMD's plus not knowing if they'll even arrive. Other option is from several guys selling one cylinder here and another there and then I can basket case it all together with rings from someone else and gudgeon pins from someone else etc.. I'd rather have a kit.
Also, for the first bore with some cylinder wear would you go 0.5mm or 1.0mm oversize?
Any info appreciated.
Thanks

IMD.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
I have not seen these before but they look ok. Out of 83 reviews they're a 98% good to excellent https://www.trustpilot.com/review/imdpistons.com?languages=en
Here's an alternative I am familiar with and they been used by many people https://www.cruzinimage.net/category/item/itemgenre/motorcycle/honda/pistons-honda/page/4/