• Don't overlook our Welcome Package, it contains many links to important and helpful information about functions at VHT like posting pictures and sending PMs (private messages), as well as finding the parts you need.

AD

Nothing quite like a hot oil shower....

Juneaudave

Veteran Member
Total Posts
Total likes
I'm an idiot...I noticed a drip of oil after my last ride but I didn't think much about it except that I would go ahead, change the oil, and find the leak when it was cooler.

So today, I took a high speed run into town to get oil for the change...and when I got back my pant leg and the engine had received a pretty good spray down of hot oil...it sure didn't take long to find the leak....

ohyCZJY.jpg

Fortunately, the cap was sitting in the valley...

ZyQeekR.jpg

Glad I'm a backyard mechanic as opposed to a heart surgeon! I can't believe I left that loose when I rebuilt the engine last winter...

It happens. We all make rookie mistakes at one point or another. Just be glad it wasn't something catastrophic.

Extra crankcase ventilation... good that it was high in the top end, but I'm sure there was still a fair amount of oil loss.

LOL, lucky you still had the cap on crankcase.
Due to cam rotation the inlet tends to throw more oil around plus very little chance of anything getting in through the hole., it would have been much more 'interesting' on exhaust side (y)

I've done something similar with the filler cap on a bike as well as car. Lucked out both times that the cap lodged in there somewhere so I didn't lose it and I also realized it after a minute of riding so wasn't too bad.