• Don't overlook our Welcome Package, it contains many links to important and helpful information about functions at VHT like posting pictures and sending PMs (private messages), as well as finding the parts you need.

AD

A few engine questions...

true_w

Total Posts
Total likes
First of all, this is my first time tearing into a motorcycle engine, so I'm here to learn. Obviously my experience is lacking. I have a 72 CB350 with about 10,000 miles on it. I believe the top end has been done before based on scrape marks I found under the gasket material. The bottom end still had asbestos gaskets on that I believe are factory installed. One of my spark plug threads was semi stripped, which is one of the reasons I took the top end down. I found this small very thin piece of metal during disassembly. I don't believe it's off any of the piston rings. They seemed intact when I removed them. Any guesses as to what it's from? I thought maybe off the camshaft shims, but they look OK too.
9MpLRqR.jpg

fKV4t91.jpg

A question about the cam box. There are some what I'd call imperfections in the mold or possibly stress fractures, but they don't seem to run that deep. Anything I should be worried about?
WAWmYQH.jpg

FzPELz2.jpg

I want to split the crankcase and I was going to remove the rotor, but she won't come off with the rotor puller tool. I tighten it down and I can't get it to come off. Impact driver? Any tips?
35vzjAU.jpg

I don't recognize either of the 2 extra metal pieces so no help there.
The cracking in the aluminum is just casting flaws, zero concerns there.
Stick a penny in the drive to clutch basket gears to lock the crankshaft while continuing to tighten the rotor removal bolt. Do Not hit the rotor with a hammer! It will cause the rotor to lose magnetism.​